Posted on

The power of a Mother’s Dua

Asalaamu Alaykum wa Rahmatullahi wa Barakaatuh and greetings,

I pray that you are all in the best states of health and faith.

I recently had an interview to attend at a place about an hour and a half train journey (plus another 4 miles to the place my interview was being held) from where I live. I must say I felt a little nervous, since the whole idea of attending an interview so far away seemed pretty daunting. My mother insisted that I take a cab from the train station to the place my interview was being held, since there were no regular buses running so early in the morning, and walking it there would have taken about 30 minutes.

So the day before my interview I booked a cab to pick me up from the station.

On the interview day as I arrived at my destination station, my mother calls me and asks if I arrived safely on time.  I said yes, praise be to Allah I have. So she says to me ‘I hope your cab is a nice person. Hopefully he won’t be someone racist’. The reason she said this is because there aren’t many Muslims in this area, so she was worried that I may stick out like a sore thumb. I guess my mother was just over-exaggerating (per usual). I guess all mothers do that right?

Anyway…I walk out the station and head towards my booked cab. I enter and give my greetings to the driver, apologising for the delay. A conversation commences and we exchange names…

Guess what? My cab was a Muslim! We had a brief conversation in Arabic and started discussing the wonders and splendour of Arabic language. We then moved onto the topic of mothers and discussed how a person can never achieve happiness in this world and in the hereafter if they have not pleased their mother.

So I told him that my mother was worried about my cab being not a nice person. He replies by saying that ‘You’re mother’s prayer and worry was accepted and dealt with by Allah’. I told him I will convey his greeting to my mother, which he appreciated very much. I had arrived at my interview and we departed with greetings of peace and a smile on my face. My nerves and worries had been dealt with, Alhamdulillah…

It is amazing how Allah listens to the prayer of our mothers and addresses their worries and concerns, without them even asking Him.

I pray that Allah raises the ranks of our mothers in this world and in the Hereafter, and may we be their vessels of Reward and Blessing on the Day of Judgement.

Ameen Ya Rabb.

4 responses to “The power of a Mother’s Dua

  1. true, JazakALLAHU khira.
    Your blog is quite unique .

  2. BarakAllahu Feek. Please do follow.

  3. Hayy ibn al Hanafi ⋅

    This is sick! Masha’Allah 🙂

  4. Shukran Jazeelan wa JazakumAllahu Khairan.

Leave a Reply

